PDA

View Full Version : ShopBot identification

dennyz
06-16-2011, 10:41 AM
I am new to ShopBots. I was hired to setup and get a machine going. I believe it to be a PRT model, but can't tell if it is an Alpha or Standard. I have looked for a name plate but haven't found one. How do I tell?

dhunt
06-16-2011, 10:48 AM
The only input I can give is that when we recently updated our software
I recall getting a message on the screen that we had a pre-03/01/04 box
and therefore no serial number.

We know our PRT-96 was made in late-2000 (prob. Dec.?)
because it spent Jan.of 2001 on the water, being shipped down to this Caribbean island I'm on
and we were assembling it, kit-style, from parts, in late Feb. 2001.

It's not much.. but you do have a date to work with.

I'm assuming all Bots made after 1st. March 2004 have serial numbers --very cool! ;)

road_king
06-16-2011, 12:19 PM
I have a PRT Alpha.....The control box is Stainless steel...
I think the Standards have a Computer case for the control box.

Gerald

dhunt
06-16-2011, 12:55 PM
I have a PRT Alpha.....The control box is Stainless steel...
I think the Standards have a Computer case for the control box.Now you mention the older computer case models
here (attached below) are two views of our control box from the late-2000/early-2001 era.

dennyz
06-16-2011, 01:17 PM
This is what our controller looks like.

br928
06-16-2011, 02:06 PM
Post a pic with the door open.

road_king
06-16-2011, 02:10 PM
This is what our controller looks like.

That's what my control box looks like on my 2004 PRT-Alpha. Not sure about upgrade from 2000/2001. My PRT-Alpha has a router, I see you have a VFD for a spindle...NICE...

Gerald.

road_king
06-16-2011, 02:15 PM
Post a pic with the door open.

I think Stan's right. If we can see inside the control box and see what drivers for the motors you have, then we can be sure.

Gerald

dennyz
06-16-2011, 02:53 PM
Controller Insides

ken_rychlik
06-16-2011, 06:15 PM