PDA

View Full Version : Guitar Parts..anyone??

John@mayesguitars.com
08-14-2002, 01:16 AM
I have been intersted in a Shop bot for carving guitar necks. Is anyone out there doing this? How much of the carving are you anle to do? pictures of the final carved neck would be wonderful!! Thanks!

John Mayes
Mayes guitars
www.mayesguitars.com

sheldon@dingwallguitars.com
08-14-2002, 12:40 PM
We do that John. The actual shaft is fairly easy to program in Vector, but the transitions from shaft to headstock and heel are a real bear. I tried several combinations of software and finally just programed them by hand. This turned out to be a good thing as it afforded me the ability to program starting cuts to minimize blow out on the corners. They're a little chunky but 2 minutes on a pneumatic drum cleans them up nicely.

ricks
08-14-2002, 12:50 PM
John,
I have been studying guitarmaking for the last 2 years. I,ve had my Shopbot for about 5 & a cabinetmaker for close to 30.
I have been carving necks on the Shopbot and I,m very happy with the results. I use Rhino to draw the neck in 3d and Millwizard to generate the code for the bot. The bot runs about 15min to carve the neck which results in grooves that need to be sanded out. The sanding goes quickly. I will try and get it together to send you a picture.

Rick Samish
Fine Line Cabinets

John@mayesguitars.com
08-14-2002, 12:58 PM
that would be great rick...and thanks frot he pics sheldon...looks great!

gerald_d
10-07-2002, 07:13 AM
Sheldon will shake his head . . . . . .

Homemade African guitars have mostly been converted 1 gallon oil cans. Look what this guy (http://www.africanguitars.com/) is doing here in my backyard!

He exports about 150 "guitars" a month and can't keep up with demand. And he runs a $80 000 Multicam! These guitars sell at about $250 each to the tourists here in Cape Town.

rgbrown@itexas.net
10-07-2002, 08:58 AM
Gerald,