PDA

View Full Version : Routing Greenply

jhowarth
09-14-2011, 01:15 PM
Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to using the shopbot and would really appreciate some feedback on two of the problems I am having.

I am trying to route a number of squares with pockets in them for a table I am building. I am having a problem with the material I am using. I am using 3/4Inch thick maple greenply http://greenply.net/ .

One of the internal layers of the ply seems to be getting ripped at the edges by my routing bit. Also, I have suffered a little bit of delamination (the top half of a square coming off) while routing. Photo of the edge attached.

I am using a 1/4 inch mortise compression bit from Centurion Tools (after doing some research on this forum).

Shopbot settings
- 16000rpm
- 4ips
- 0.25inch plunge depth.

Any ideas on how to overcome this problem?
- Is it material related?
- Do I need to change my tool path?
- Am I being to aggressive with my tool path?

Cheers
James

zeykr
09-14-2011, 01:41 PM
Not familiar with greenply, but at first glance I think you're spinning the bit too fast - I'd try 10K or 12K. Are you cutting .25 per pass or .25 total? The upcut portion of the mort-comp bit is probably .25 inch so you are lifting your material by only going .25 deep, I'd increase it to .375 to get the downcut into play.

Which direction are you cutting, climb or conventional? Is the cut between the squares wider than your bit (i.e does it make one pass each way or just one pass)?

bleeth
09-14-2011, 04:00 PM