PDA

View Full Version : any other guitar builders here?

Ajcoholic
03-04-2012, 11:51 AM
I have been building guitars since the mid 1980's (mainly for myself, as a hobby) but I do sell the odd one or two.

I am currently working on cut files to do a Fender Strat style body. Then neck.. and then other things I have ideas for (semi hollow, carved tops, etc).

Of course having the shopbot will now allow me to do things I had to do before with jigs and fixtures, and cut by hand or with the pin router. And inlays... I really didnt like doing those by hand with a small router, dremel and files, etc.

I hope to cut something soon - will post pics. But I am sure someone else around here must be into guitar making?

AJC

Brian H.
03-04-2012, 12:37 PM
Ya know... I'm not, but I should be!

I'm sorta waiting to hook up with another guitar player locally to tackle making guitars, or at least trying. I fear that I don't have enough time by myself to tackle the learning curve. To have a partner learning at the same time might be just the ticket. And, of course, sharing tricks with other Shopbotters would be another great idea!

I'll be very interested in your progress. I play a Strat as my main electric. Always thought it would be a good guitar to start with... fairly simple.

There's another 'botter, Scott Green, who has done some great guitars.

dlcw
03-04-2012, 02:14 PM
Andrew,

I'm not currently building guitars but I've been reading up on how to do it because it is something I want to do. I would be doing mainly acoustic guitars, not electric.

Ajcoholic
03-04-2012, 02:29 PM
I have done some acoustics as well, but electrics (and semi hollow electrics) are what I mainly do. My inetrests lie with classic rock music, therefore I am generally interested in the classic guitars (Tele's, Strats, Les Paul's, 335, etc).

I have a lot of guitar building experience, which will certainly help in designing the cad, cutting paths and cut orders, and fixturing, etc.