PDA

View Full Version : Problems and Questions from a newbie

BPM
04-22-2012, 07:17 PM
I am new to CNC routers -- so some of my questions will be basic stuff. Thanks in advance for all your help.

PrsAlpha 60x144x8, 2010 machine, 5hp HSP, 8 tool-ATC, 3axis, plus indexer & 2nd Z (neither are installed currrently), Vaccum table (blower not hooked up yet)
(I purchased this machine recently - doesn't look like it was ever used..)

Problems:

1) I've calibrated the ATC twice - following the directions exactly --- however, when I enter the command to get a tool - and choose tool #1 (or any other)-- the spindle moves to the
correct position - however, Z does not go 'low enough' -- it looks like it should go about 3/4" lower -- the result -- the spindle attempts to load the tool holder -- then it proceeds like it did.. however,
when the spindle moves out away from clip #1 -- the tool holder is still in clip #1 -- and simply gets knocked out of the clip, and falls to the ground.

2) Spindle RPM -- when I choose the RPM control under tools -- it comes up... shows 'preview' for a few seconds then shows the RPM at 2333 -- I cannot change the RPM value... either by entering there - or going to the work sheet form....

Questions:

A) I set the Jog speed to the max at 30.... however, when I'm in K (keyboard mode -- using the arrow keys) it moves pretty slow.... how can i get the tool to move the same speed as when it goes to grab a tool.... ? i.e. 'faster!'

B) When I shut the machine off -- I'm using the on/off lever at the control box... this shuts down the 230V -- however, it looks like the 110v stays on... should i also kill the power to the 110V when I shut the machine off?

C) Where do I find information/documentation about the types of bits I should use for various cutting? The router came with 3 bits -- V-carving bit -- 1/2" plunge bit (I think), 1/2" Up cut spiral bit..

I need to get an education on the types of bits to use - and where to get them.