PDA

View Full Version : Post Processor for BobCad



Guerra Cues
04-26-2012, 10:53 PM
Hello,

I have the shopbot desktop with the indexer.
I would also like to use Bobcad and paste the gcode in the control software of the Shopbot.

Does anybody here have the post processor for the shopbot?

danhamm
04-27-2012, 07:51 PM
Try Bobcad..

Guerra Cues
04-27-2012, 09:19 PM
Try Bobcad..

I was trying to avoid that and all their sale pitch bs.

adrianm
04-28-2012, 04:43 AM
Why paste the gcode? The ShopBot control software can load a GCode file int the same way as you load an SBP file. Just change the file type dropdown on the Open dialog.

CNYDWW
04-28-2012, 07:10 AM
Good luck, usually the post processors you can get have bugs. They want you to call tech support so they can charge you extra.

Regards
Randy

aldepoalo
04-30-2012, 10:21 AM
Hello Everyone,

I know there are a lot of BobCAD CAM Haters on in this forum, and based on some of the issues we've had in the past rightly so. Many things have changed at BobCAD-CAM and if you need a post we can help you in a few different ways.

1) To start with you would want to download the post you are looking for on our website. http://www.bobcad.com/downloads/post-processors

BobCAD-CAM provides standard Post Processors free of charge. Modified or Customized Post Processors are covered under our Technical Support Memberships.

A Post Processor is a unique “driver” specific to the CNC controller it’s intended to work with. The Post Processor controls the format of the G-code produced by BobCAD-CAM.

For BobCAD-CAM to effectively run your CNC machine you must choose the proper post. BobCAD-CAM provides free Post Processors to all of it’s customers. There is no limit to the number of post you may download and use with your BobCAD-CAM software. We have many post configurations ready for download.


2) If we do not have a post for your machine or you need changes made to one you'll need to provide us some information. Use this link to request a post or modification to a post. http://www.bobcad.com/downloads/post-request


3) BobCAD CAM does really well in creating G-code based post processors. If you want to use the shop bot conversational most likely your post will need to be scripted. To Learn more about scripting use this link: http://www.bobcad.com/wp-content/media/pdf/custom-scripting-request.pdf


4) If BobCAD makes you a post or not you'll want to learn how to make simple edits to the post yourself. It's not hard to do and the following links are videos showing you how to.

http://youtu.be/fyyViHren4I

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0LZr7I5lTH8


5) Sample Shop Bot Code BobCAD CAM creates:

'PROGRAM NUMBER :100
'PROGRAM NAME: POST_SAMPLE.TXT
'POST: SHOPBOT PRT
'DATE: TUE. 07/06/2010
'TIME: 02:02PM
'T1 ENDMILL ROUGH, DIAMETER = 0.5, LENGTH = 5.
'T2 ENDMILL FINISH, DIAMETER = 0.125, LENGTH = 5.
'
JH
'
'JOB 1 CONTOUR
'FEATURE PROFILE
'INSERT FIRST TOOL
PAUSE 1
'
J2,1.5,0.7
JZ,0.1
MS,0.8984
MZ,-0.5
MS,1.4973
M2,5.5,0.7
CG, ,6.3,1.5,0.,0.8,T,-1
M2,6.3,5.5
CG, ,5.5,6.3,-0.8,0.,T,-1
M2,1.5,6.3
CG, ,0.7,5.5,0.,-0.8,T,-1
M2,0.7,1.5
CG, ,1.5,0.7,0.8,0.,T,-1
JZ,0.1
'
JH
'
'JOB 1 CONTOUR
'FEATURE PROFILE
'INSERT NEXT TOOL
PAUSE 1
'
JZ
J2,1.5,0.9375
MS,4.8403
MZ,-0.5
M2,5.5,0.9375
CG, ,6.0625,1.5,0.,0.5625,T,-1
M2,6.0625,5.5
CG, ,5.5,6.0625,-0.5625,0.,T,-1
M2,1.5,6.0625
CG, ,0.9375,5.5,0.,-0.5625,T,-1
M2,0.9375,1.5
CG, ,1.5,0.9375,0.5625,0.,T,-1
JZ,0.1
'
JH


'PROGRAM NUMBER :100
'PROGRAM NAME: HSMPART1.NC
'POST: SHOPBOT PRT
'DATE: FRI. 04/13/2012
'TIME: 11:53AM
'T1 ENDMILL ROUGH, DIAMETER = 0.5, LENGTH = 5.
'T3 DRILL, DIAMETER = 0.5, LENGTH = 5.
'
'UNITS:INCHES
'
IF %(25)=1 THEN GOTO UNIT_ERROR
SA
CN,90
'
'JOB 1 CONTOUR
'FEATURE PROFILE
'INSERT FIRST TOOL
C9
TR,374
C6
PAUSE 2
'
J2,2.,-4.5
JZ,0.1
MS,1.7968
MZ,-0.125
MS,2.9947
M2,2.,-4.25
M3,0.25,-4.25
CG, ,-0.25,-3.75,0.,0.5,T,1
M3,-0.25,-0.25
CG, ,0.25,0.25,0.5,0.,T,1
M3,3.75,0.25
CG, ,4.25,-0.25,0.,-0.5,T,1
M3,4.25,-3.75
CG, ,3.75,-4.25,-0.5,0.,T,1
M3,2.,-4.25
JZ,0.1
J2,2.,-4.5
JZ,-0.025
MS,1.7968
MZ,-0.25
MS,2.9947
M2,2.,-4.25
M3,0.25,-4.25
CG, ,-0.25,-3.75,0.,0.5,T,1
M3,-0.25,-0.25
CG, ,0.25,0.25,0.5,0.,T,1
M3,3.75,0.25
CG, ,4.25,-0.25,0.,-0.5,T,1
M3,4.25,-3.75
CG, ,3.75,-4.25,-0.5,0.,T,1
M3,2.,-4.25
JZ,0.1
C7
'
'JOB 3 HOLE RANDOM POINT PATTERN
'FEATURE DRILL HOLE
'INSERT NEXT TOOL
C9
TR,351
C6
PAUSE 2
'
JZ
J2,1.,-1.
MS,1.0542
MZ,-0.025
JZ,0.1
JZ,0.075
MZ,-0.15
JZ,0.1
JZ,-0.05
MZ,-0.275
JZ,0.1
JZ,-0.175
MZ,-0.4
JZ,0.1
JZ,-0.3
MZ,-0.525
JZ,0.1
JZ,-0.425
MZ,-0.65
JZ,0.1
JZ,-0.55
MZ,-0.6502
JZ,0.1
J2,3.,-3.
MZ,-0.025
JZ,0.1
JZ,0.075
MZ,-0.15
JZ,0.1
JZ,-0.05
MZ,-0.275
JZ,0.1
JZ,-0.175
MZ,-0.4
JZ,0.1
JZ,-0.3
MZ,-0.525
JZ,0.1
JZ,-0.425
MZ,-0.65
JZ,0.1
JZ,-0.55
MZ,-0.6502
JZ,0.1
'Turning router OFF
C7
END
'
'
UNIT_ERROR:
CN, 91
END


I hope this information is useful for you. Please let me know if you have any questions I can answer directly.

Al DePoalo
BobCAM Team Leader
866-408-3226 X147

Nancy
04-30-2012, 10:57 AM
Thanks for answering Tony's request for a postprocessor for BobCAD. As his question has been answered, this topic is closed.