PDA

View Full Version : Alternatives to air drill?

jTr
05-08-2012, 10:21 AM
Have seen it suggested in other threads that you may be able to use a conventional electric drill vs the SB air drill. Quite frankly, I'd like to get my new machine boring holes, but funding is tight for the air drill package and stronger compressor.
Anyone successfully using an alternative, or should I be patient while I generate funding for the proper SB accessory?

Brady Watson
05-08-2012, 10:44 AM
http://talkshopbot.com/forum/showthread.php?t=15108

-B

br928
05-08-2012, 03:53 PM
I have been using a Milwaukee holeshooter on my Bot for almost 10 years.

Depends on what you want to drill.

jTr
05-08-2012, 07:31 PM
Thanks Brady - that must be the thread I was thinking of.

Stan - That's what I had in mind. Just want to punch 8mm holes for pins hinges and slides using a carbide bit as describe in thread Brady referred to.
Do you use SB3 and control outputs to trigger, or simply manually flip a power switch?
Also, any special trick to getting position of this "foreign" part in harmony with offset the software is set to? I appreciate your input!

jeff

br928
05-09-2012, 10:18 AM
Jeff,

My drill is hardwired to a switch. It could easily be run from a relay output, like my spindle, but just never got around to it.

I modified two custom files that swap between the two Zs, as primary, and changes the offsets between them.

Are you using two Zs or one?

Pick a drill with the max speed for the material you will be drilling. I am drilling in steel so my drill speed is slow. Air drills are very fast.

jTr
05-09-2012, 03:21 PM
Jeff,

My drill is hardwired to a switch. It could easily be run from a relay output, like my spindle, but just never got around to it.

I modified two custom files that swap between the two Zs, as primary, and changes the offsets between them.

Are you using two Zs or one?