PDA

View Full Version : Wood vs Steel Table

tucker-52@charter.net
02-06-2002, 11:06 PM
Whoa!!! Those steel tables went FAST!!! I'm soon to be ordering a new PRT96, and I've made up my mind, with the help of this forum, on all the bells and whistles except for the table itself. I'm an accomplished carpenter, so I've been serious about building my own wood table. But looking at how fast those steel tables were swept up, I don't know! I would like to hear from anyone/everyone who has built his or her own wood table for the Shopbot....Wood you do it again? (No pun intended.) What are the advantages other than cost? What are the disadvantages? Are you happy with them? Any and all input will be much appreciated here. Mark

odysseywood@home.com
02-07-2002, 09:30 AM
Mark
I have had my ShopBot about 3 years now. While waiting on the ShopBot to be delivered I built my own table from wood. I started with the basic plan from ShopBot and made some modifications.
After 3 years of fairly heavy use I am more that satified with the wood table. In the 3 years I have squared the machine one time and that was because of my own stupid mastake. If I had it to do over again I would build another wood table. If you are intrested in the modifications I made to the ShopBot plans drop me an email and I will send you the details. For your information I am using a 3.25 hp PC router and 90% of the time I am cutting 3/4" MDF.

beacon14
02-07-2002, 09:40 AM
Our table is made of 3/4" plywood, doubled up to 1 1/2" thick. We more or less took the Shopbot design, substituted plywood for solid 2x6's, increased the widths (imagine 2x12's made of plywood), and screwed the whole thing together. It has worked with no problems for 2 1/2 years. To level the table, we remove the worn-out old platen, surface the top edges of the plywood struts, then install a new 3/4" MDF platen.