PDA

View Full Version : Name That Problem: Z-Plate

Educator
11-13-2012, 10:14 PM
First off, my name is Andy, I am a high school educator in Idaho. This is my first year teaching and I have inherited a Shopbot from an old educator. I have a strange issue that I need help with.

My Z-Zero wiring is currently not setup correctly. It is my opinion that the teacher that originally setup this machine did so incorrectly. Normally I would list the specifics of what Shopbot I have, but honestly I do not know what it is. Below are pictures of the machine.

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-22huVszM-8g/UKL8MyLb3qI/AAAAAAAAKyo/T2jcw0t0c50/s640/IMG_0053.jpg

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-FjKAbp38C3E/UKL8FD3_OCI/AAAAAAAAKyM/UtxlVzmmtWU/s640/IMG_0050.jpg

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-RT1JoFpBpyg/UKL8FM5fk4I/AAAAAAAAKyI/bssSXO6W8i8/s640/IMG_0049.jpg

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-UOzY3x_hg1o/UKL8I8PCgCI/AAAAAAAAKyA/3EXOirEu_PE/s512/IMG_0051.jpg

The zero problem is sort of complicated. If I touch the Zero Plate to the aligator clip the Input 1 correctly lights up. The problem is when the connection is separated the light stays on. In order to turn the light off I have to trigger one of the proximity switches. I discovered tonight that if I press in the E-Stop switch the z-plate connection works correctly (light only turns on when the clip and plate touch).

Any suggestions on where to go next would be greatly appreciated.

twelchPTM
11-13-2012, 11:01 PM