PDA

View Full Version : Buddy Standard vs. Alpha?

Second Childhood
12-04-2012, 09:03 PM
I am a prospective Buddy buyer. I have read a great deal on the site about the differences between the Alpha and the Standard, although speak to the Buddy versions. I am a home woodworker that does an occasional piece on commission. I have a strong preference for solid well build machines. My primary power tool is a Knapp combination machine that weighs almost 2 tons and runs 3 6hp motors on 3 phase power. Likely overkill, but I love it.

My usage of a CNC machine will be to carve out seats for rocking chairs and for milling/flattening large boards that won't fit in my 16' jointer/planer. All are typically 2" walnut or curly maple boards.

Is an Alpha overkill for my application? Any other recommendations about how to configure my order?

Doug

dana_swift
12-05-2012, 09:09 AM
Hello Douglas!

You will be happy with either machine. Standards cut at about half the speed of alphas, but cut reliably and accurately. What alphas do is offer higher speed with servo-feedback. That is nice to have (my BT-32 is an alpha) but not essential. If you can afford an alpha, its a better machine with higher torque and speed.

Also look at the BT-48 size with powersticks. Powersticks allow the buddy to cut a full sheet of plywood. REALLY handy. Then when you are not doing big work, you have a small machine footprint. But 8 foot and longer powersticks REQUIRE the alpha.

When I bought my BT-32 I thought I didn't want a full sheet ability. I was very wrong. Once I had a shopbot I found it got used on many more projects than my original intentions. Fortunately I have access to a full size gantry shopbot for my occasional full-sheet projects.