PDA

View Full Version : Grease and the z rail

shilala
12-20-2012, 03:20 PM
I've crawled all over my paperwork and the intersne to find some good direction on greasing my 2012 PRS BT48.
Excuse me as I explain what I grease, I'm ashamed I don't know proper names of parts, especially since I've been a mechanic all my life. :D

I grease the rails that the machine glides on, but very lightly. Just enough to see that they can't rust. I do that under the table and on the y axis. I do the best I can with the Z.

I grease the two gear tracks, x and y. I can't figure out how to get into the z without tearing the whole thing apart.
I feel a little "hitch" in the z axis when I glide it up and down (when it's not under power) and it makes me think there's a clinker stuck to the gear track.

Can someone please run down what needs greased and how to pull apart or access the z gear rail? It's pretty simple, but I'd far rather have a little heads up before I steamroll into it.

Thanks!!!

dana_swift
12-20-2012, 03:26 PM
Scott- I may not be following the manual in this case, but I only grease the rack and pinion gears on all three axes. The rails are not greased to prevent chip collection. The chip particles on the rails would make "bumps" the rollers would have to climb over and ruin accuracy in the related axes.

The wipers on each side of the V rollers wipe the dust off (usually) and make a nice smooth track. If there is a small oxide layer, it would make less roughness than the chips collected on grease.

This will no doubt bring about a lively discussion-

D

garyc
12-20-2012, 03:34 PM
Scott, Dana, et al....
This is NOT an official document, but is one I hand out to the Production Customers I visit for maintenance, tune-ups and training. If your actual use is less than the listed 40 or 20 hrs per week, then adjust your schedule accordingly.

shilala
12-20-2012, 03:39 PM