PDA

View Full Version : Finally getting started...but having trouble

tree
05-25-2007, 07:06 PM
Ok...so far.. As a noob I feel I have been doing well on this set up, but I have hit a problem. I have a standard 96x60 with two spindles. I had some trouble with the software but talked with tech support and that was fixed. Now I am to the Prox switches and tech support is closed for the weekend (and its a holiday weekend). I am not sure whats going on. During the "setup" process when it is setting up from the zero I saved on the X, Y it hits the hard stops. Im sure this is not good on the machince so.... I just stopped. Where could I made the mistake? How Prox switchs actualy work? And if anyone in the Charlotte area likes doing setups... I have a grill and make great cheeseburgers....lol Thats about as much as I have to offer as of now.

Towersonline
05-25-2007, 07:46 PM
Brian, Try this: With the Shopbot turned on place a peice of metal, screwdriver blade etc under the prox switch. Does it light up? If not check yout wiring. If it lights are the targets properly adjusted? To test this Run the bot until its over a target Adjust the target height until the Prox switch light comes on. Let me know how this works.

Bill Thorpe

steve4460
05-25-2007, 07:55 PM
Hi Brian

You might need the maximum travel on your "X" I have my proxes setup so that it will triggers when the wheels come with in 1" of either end of the x rail and the hardstops are right at the end of the rack make shure that they are tight . That is the only thing saving you if the proxes fail .If yours is a PRS then that might work slightly differend . Just watch that you don't run the gantry of the track .
Have fun and save botting

sv

srwtlc
05-25-2007, 09:34 PM
Hey Brian,

First off, do you have a PRS with the new style NC switches or a PRT that may have NO switches.