PDA

View Full Version : Cutting Upholstery Foam

NekoNariko
04-01-2013, 07:31 PM
Hi, I'm a real newbie to using a shopbot, but there is one at my local Tech Shop. I've taken the courses, so I understand how to use it, but I am wanting to cut out some geometric shapes from upholstery foam for some interesting-shaped pillows. Is this even possible? Can anyone recommend a end mill/bit that would be good for this kind of project? I'm not worried about the sufface being especially smooth or perfect, as it will not be visible, but I do need to be able to have a reasonably sloping angle. Any help/tips/warnings would be very helpful.

chiloquinruss
04-01-2013, 08:10 PM
Just my opinion but . . . . . . I wouldn't do it with da' Bot'! I have cut foam but I use a vibrating kitchen knife for cutting out the pieces. The issue with the bot is there would be no way to hold the material and it would be 'grabbed' by any bit and after that well . . . . . Just my 2 cents worth. Russ

steve_g
04-01-2013, 08:50 PM
Megan...
I have cut out pockets in charcoal polyester for case linings... what you are doing is controlled ripping out of chunks. All this is only possible if you can figure out a way to hold it while you are doing this violent act! Hot wire cutting is by far the preferred method of cutting flexible foam.

SG

Brady Watson
04-01-2013, 09:07 PM
I would not use the bot to cut the foam itself, but if you cut out some templates with the Bot and used an electric knife (like for turkey carving etc), you could compress the foam with the template and use the knife to cut your foam. This kind of foam is just too soft for a rotary tool.

-B

twelchPTM
04-02-2013, 12:42 AM