PDA

View Full Version : Drum Sander - Buy one or pass on it?

JoeinWestMich
08-01-2013, 05:59 PM
Not sure if this is the right forum for this question but here goes. I read a thread on one of the CNC forums where the user was preparing his wood blanks with a drum sander. I have never used one before so I don't know how useful this piece of wood working equipment would be in general and for CNC in particular. But the drum sander seems to be ideal for preparing wood blanks of uniform thickness and with a final finish (220 grit) for most stuff I would do with my Buddy. I was looking at the Jet 16-32 drum sander online (Woodcraft, Amazon). It is not inexpensive but I could save enough to get one in a couple of months. Could those of you who use one please pipe in and give me your advice. FYI, I have a DeWalt 14 inch thickness planer, a Powermatic 6 inch jointer, and a very good cabinet table saw. Would a drum sander complement these tools or just be overkill. I am finishing setting up my garage wood shop for my retirement next year so any purchases such as a new drum sander would have to come this year. I look forward to your input.

Kyle Stapleton
08-01-2013, 06:33 PM
They're nice piece of equipment to have, makes life a lot easier. Things go much faster when you don't have to stand with an orbital Sander forever but you can find one much cheaper on craigslist.

Bob Eustace
08-01-2013, 06:57 PM
Joe we use the 16/32 with just about every job and ALL signs in wood. You still need your planer and jointer but a drum sander can do some of this if you have a lot of time!

bbrozo
08-01-2013, 07:14 PM
I have a Jet 10-20 drum sander and do use it on occasion (depends on the project I'm working on) to do my initial sanding (80 grit) followed by a ROS up to 220 grit and sometimes higher.