View Full Version : First Project -> Tool / Cutting Path Suggestions

JudeS
08-05-2013, 01:24 PM
This is my first project after working thru some of the great examples on the website.

I attached a mockup cross-section (not to scale) of what I'm trying to accomplish. My initial thought was to use an 1/8" Bull Nose. I added ever larger rectangles increasing the depth 1/64 with each pass.

I did factor a 10% overlap but their were still misses. I believe I may not be going down the right track. Any and all suggestion are greatly appreciated.

Jude

myxpykalix
08-05-2013, 01:59 PM
I'm not sure i understand what you are trying to do? Can you give more details? Are you trying to make a pocket cut like this?:confused:

JudeS
08-05-2013, 02:19 PM
Hi Jack,

Sorry for the confusion.

The original piece of lumber is 13/16" x 3.5" x 24". This is the profile that I'd like to mimic. From what I can tell it's closest to a chamfer or a raised panel.

twelchPTM
08-05-2013, 05:20 PM
The shopbot while quite possible the coolest tool in your shop, may not always be the right tool for the job. It would be a heck of alot faster to cut that on a table saw.

donek
08-05-2013, 05:47 PM
What Thomas said.

We cut this sort of thing all the time, but in our case, the 3.5in dimension would be between 50in and 72in. I have used cam software to program such a thing, but it was more effective to write my own code for doing it. I've run into several other snowboard guys who have chosen to create their own code.

That being said, I think this falls under an extrusion in aspire or possibly a 2 rail sweep. I don't know that v-carve is capable of doing it.

JudeS
08-07-2013, 04:01 PM
Thanks for the feedback Tom and Sean.

I think I will pursue both options. I have a table saw so I'll give that a go.

Sean any thoughts on where to get started with programming your own code?

Many thanks to you both!

Jude

donek
08-07-2013, 05:01 PM
Thanks for the feedback Tom and Sean.