View Full Version : Cutting through thick wood

phealey
09-03-2013, 07:15 AM
Hello,

I am relatively new to ShopBot and have a project at work that requires us to cut through 3"-4" thick pieces of oak. We have a PRSalpha unit, and are not sure what kind of bit would be the best choice to cut through wood this thick. If anyone on here has any suggestions about what would be the best way to go about this, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Pat

dana_swift
09-03-2013, 09:01 AM
In order to cut through 4" of wood you need about 4.5" of bit protruding below the collet. The bit will have a lot of torque on it trying to twist it out of the collet, so it needs to be firmly set with at least one inch in the collet. So the bit needs to be 5.5 or 6" long. If your wood is actually 3.5 inches thick at the deepest point, adjust the calculations accordingly. It will require a much more affordable and easier to find 5" bit.

There must be some air between the work and the collet, as collet collisions ruin collets. (You have spares in all sizes you use don't you?)

Given a 5.5" bit length with significant cutting forces happening down at the tip, the next problem is bit flexing. A quarter inch bit will flex so much it may break into oscillation and "chatter". So a 3/8, or 1/2" is a practical minimum thickness for the bit.

The longest 1/4" bit I own is 4" (I had those custom made) and that is for cutting foam and soft things with very low cut forces. So that pretty much means a 1/2" bit, and you will have to hunt around because a bit as long as 5", 6" are very uncommon.

If you need a custom bit, call the guys at CenturionTools.com I have had them make customs for me, like the 4" 1/4 diameter bits I spoke of earlier.