View Full Version : ShopBot - Cutting Plywood video

hespj
10-09-2013, 06:32 AM
www.youtube.com/watch?v=XteEyLYvtXA&feature=c4-overview&list=UUF0Y_ypEky7cd0DWyLFoU1w

The presenter shows how he Z-zeros on the spoilboard rather than the top of the ply and gives some reasons why. I've been Z-zeroing on top of the ply for the past eight years, and whilst it's true that I sometimes accidently don't cut right through I think this is outweighed by the fact that I can keep Z-zeroing on top of the ply as long as it stays held down. And yes, I can add a little depth to the cut to make sure I do go right through (but not so much as on the spoiboard he showed).

I'm not saying I'm right, and if the arguments are more in favour of Z-zeroing on the spoilboard I'll change - I always Z-zero on the spoilboard for 3D stuff, but then, I've never made a 3D object which took up the whole spoilboard.

So those of you who Z-zero to the spoilboard when cutting sheets - how do you Z-zero if you're using more than one bit or if you have to re-Z-zero the first bit? I'm talking about ful sheets that take up the whole spoilboard.

John

steve_g
10-09-2013, 08:26 AM
John

I think the important thing is to be consistent! Do it the same way every time. When V-carving, Zeroing to the top of the material will give the correct results without worrying about material thickness variation...