PDA

View Full Version : Vaccum setup

denmanmarine
12-05-2013, 03:00 AM
Hi all,

I have a 120 60 PRS Alpha and my main work is cutting plywood sheets. I have been using basic ply/screw hold downs as the majority of the work is for through cuts but I have a number of regular jobs that require rebating half depth.

Most sheets are pretty flat but I had one last night that wasn't and I used the pressure foot which worked great but the lack of dust extraction is an issue. Being a boat builder, I have a Busch rotary vane vac pump in the workshop
(Seco SV 1016 C (http://www.buschvacuum.com/products/seco/seco+sv+1010+-+1040+c)) which we use for vac bagging jobs and it is a great pump but obviously low volume high vac.

Could this be used for a vac hold down system? if so, can someone point me to a link for a setup that will hold an 8 x 4 sheet down with through cuts?

Still confusing me.

Andrew

Brady Watson
12-05-2013, 10:05 AM
Andrew,
While that is an excellent pump for vac bagging, it lacks the airflow to be useful on your large table. It only flows 11 CFM.

You want a pump or vacuum that can flow 200+ CFM and produce at least 8 to 12 Hg". A cheap solution to this would be to use multiple shopvacs, such as a Fein Turbo III or to just buy the replacement vac motors that have similar specs.

Search for 'Black Box' on here - You can purchase or make your own setup using Lighthouse brand vacuum motors. I don't know if they ship internationally or not.

-B

denmanmarine
12-05-2013, 01:44 PM
Thanks Brady,

One of by shop vacs sucks 380 CFM (according to the rating of 645 cubic metres per hour). It is a beast of a machine with 3 x 1200 watt motors and standard 2" hose. see http://www.aussiepumps.com.au/PDF/specSheets/cleaningEquipment/Products_Cleaning%20equipment_Vacs_3_Industrial%20 WetDry%20Vac.pdf

Do you think this may work?

Andrew

Brady Watson
12-05-2013, 04:49 PM