PDA

View Full Version : Butcher Block Hex Shape Counter/Desk Top

Burkhardt
06-29-2014, 10:15 PM
While I am traveling without CNC access, I am kicking around new project ideas. Here is one of them:
I need to replace my kitchen table. The pine top is dinged, scratched and worn out, has been resurfaced a few times and is anyway too small.

Now I have a 3' piece of a Juniper trunk (maybe 6-10" diameter) that I have been using for many years as a column base for sheet metal peening, which is kind of waste because the wood has a beautiful white-red grain.

The idea would be to cut the trunk into 1" thick slices (chain saw or maybe band saw if I can find a helper), plane or sand them to even thickness and cut even hexagons from the slices. Then glue it together as end grain butcher block with half hexagons to make the sides straight. Attach stringers under it with shallow drawers and legs and voila, a new table.

Does that makes sense? Or better to ask, what can go wrong?

myxpykalix
06-29-2014, 11:54 PM
I think the only thing you need to figure out is some type of jig you need to make to hold it on your bandsaw. Do you have a picture of it? I wouldn't use a chainsaw, i think you'd waste too much.

If you have an issue with the length and width of the piece in your bandsaw you could make a larger table support table with a miter slot connected to a C clamp type of long clamp that would hold your log at the top and bottom while running it thru the blade using the miter slot as a guide.

I can go to the trouble of drawing something up if this is something you want to do.:D

Red F
06-30-2014, 07:16 AM
DON'T PLANE ENDGRAIN IN A PLANER (unless you enjoy explosions). On the CNC is fine.

Also, if you're using endgrain that will contain the pith of the tree, get comfortable with that wood movement, "rustic" look.

By the way, I love all of the stuff that you've contributed to the CNC community.
And I hope you got some Barbecue while driving through the lovely state of NC.