PDA

View Full Version : Elegant solution needed. Suggestions?

scottp55
07-11-2014, 07:08 PM
I just removed a bad hub between keyboard/mouse and control computer that I've been using for 6 months. No hub now, but that means Box has to stay within inches of my old table/cabinet which won't let me access left side and kind of defeats the whole purpose of it. So it's crunch time.
I was thinking of just putting casters on the old cabinet and hinging it to left hand side of box, but then I couldn't get wheelchair underneath.
I'd like an elegant cantilevered shelf for monitor/keyboard/mouse on the top left of box that I can swing at least 90 degrees and preferably 180.
I've thought of at least 6 different things, but all have some flaw so I thought I'd toss it out for suggestions.
I'd prefer to make it myself to keep costs down-I've got tons of 8/4-12/4 slabs up to 17" wide if that helps.
If there's a prebuilt solution that doesn't cost an arm and a leg, I'll consider it.
1 pic that shows a slice of box corner(sort of).
Thanks,
scott

Ajcoholic
07-12-2014, 09:04 AM
That's to hold the keyboard, mouse etc? What about a strong metal articulated arm of some type? That you can place in any position. You see them with small gas struts to support the weight and they are very easy to move around.

scottp55
07-12-2014, 10:21 AM
Thanks Andrew, Pre-built metal would be easiest/best but I'm trying to cheap out as this is on my own dime.
Imagine my surprise when I changed my search from"swivel/cantilevered" to "swing-arm" and let's talk Shopbot popped up.
http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/showthread.php?p=72070
I was thinking a single point attachment and the leverage was throwing me. Steve's first section from the wall will let me distribute the stress and the offset gives me extra clearance for the swing action.
Thanks Steve, At least it give me a different starting point.:)
"Blue" office didn't look insulated:)

scottp55
07-12-2014, 07:20 PM