View Full Version : shopbot vs handibot whats best for a newbie to CNC

WallyS
10-23-2014, 01:20 AM
im a CNC beginner looking for my first CNC to learn/ have fun with.
Currently I'm trying to decide between the shopbot desktop or the handibot
In my CNC newbie opinion right now it looks like the handibot is the better machine, considering it can be moved to the materials and you can use the indexing jig to do bigger surfaces
I don't see why the desktop is worth more money, but the fact that it is the more expensive option makes me wonder if there are benefits that I'm not aware of

is someone able to give me the pros and cons of each so I can better make decision(like is their speed differences ? Or things one can do that the other can't etc.)

thanks

shilala
10-23-2014, 07:30 AM
I've looked at the handibot, and it's an awesome niche tool. I just don't have much use for it with what I do, but it'd sure be insanely cool to have one on my shelf.
Conversely, I use my BT48 Buddy constantly. And it's not a "business machine". It's just another tool, albeit the ultimate another tool. :)

I think you have to ask yourself "what is it that I want to do?"
Were it me, and I were deciding between the two, I'd go with the desktop. Once I've learned and outgrown it, I'd go to a bigger Shopbot.
If you're always on the road and work as a tradesman building custom homes and decks, I'd have the handibot. That would be insanely badass.

I'm sure others will come up with lots of great points.
So far as pros and cons, both are the best of the best and are going to do anything you can throw at them. Shopbot doesn't make homeowner toys. They make tools that go to work, for life.

scottp55
10-23-2014, 02:02 PM
Hi Wally, I'm kind of opinionated towards the Desktop:), but it really depends on what you have in mind to do with it(and that will change before you know it).
Can you tell us sort of what the kind of work you would like to do?