PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Desktop

banjomanwv
02-13-2015, 07:50 PM
When I was X and Y zeroing today the machine started stuttering and grinding and made an awful sound. Then it was running fine and I had to manually move the X and it did the same thing, like it was running up against the end of its limits but it wasn't.

Brady Watson
02-13-2015, 10:00 PM
Check for debris jacked up in the bearing blocks. Have you been keeping these clean? Inspect the areas below each bearing block. Look carefully for the tell tale signs of balls being dropped from the blocks.

-B

scottp55
02-14-2015, 06:03 AM
Tim, Also check and blow out connections. Once it was a mouse and a keyboard that died days later. Once the USB connection to the computer had gotten snagged and Almost pulled out. And once a loose HDMI connection.
Good luck,
scott

banjomanwv
02-16-2015, 11:42 AM
I don't quite understand Brady, im new to all this and I don't know which parts those are....I will clean it up and get it all fixed up and clean and try running it again soon

scottp55
02-16-2015, 12:54 PM
Tim, Pretty sure these.
Brady, when the ex-machinist and I took it apart for Z-upgrade, we noticed 1 bearing in each block missing. We scoured the area and checked the just surfaced spoilboard(no grease mark anywhere) and never found them. How critical is it for ALL the bearings to be there? Only bearings in house at the time were bicycle bearings and not a perfect match so we re-installed as is.
Bad?
Anything to lose sleep over?
Thanks,
scott

Brady Watson
02-16-2015, 01:41 PM
Nothing to lose sleep over...but it's never a good day when you look under the rails and see balls laying underneath :eek: Keep an eye out for more...You can get replacement balls, but they can be hard to get back in. Keep the tool clean and when it comes time for maintenance, you replace the blocks. If you have it torn down that far - you just replace them.