PDA

View Full Version : New ShopBotter

Chip
03-24-2015, 12:12 PM
Hi all. I am new to the CNC world and purchased a desk top machine with an indexer to cut inlays on custom pool cues. Getting the indexer set up and tuned up now. Tech support has helped me overcome some minor difficulties (thanks to all for the support) and getting very close to putting it in production.

Anyway, just an introduction and I look forward to the opportunity to exchange some ideas and learn some tricks from the more seasoned users out there.

ssflyer
03-24-2015, 01:42 PM
Hi Chip!

Welcome to the wonderful, frustrating, exhilarating world of CNC! There is always a learning curve, but you are definitely in the right place to find answers!

harryball
03-24-2015, 02:14 PM
Enjoy the ride! Be prepared for broken bits and messed up materials, it comes with the territory so the first time you do it you'll know you're headed in the right direction. In all seriousness... SAFETY is your first priority. Remember, these things move on their own with a mind of their own so don't put yourself in harms way.

Much of CNC is about "art". So if you ask a questions to 3 shopbotters you might get 4 opinions. Sometimes there are many ways to do the same thing and in those cases, the only right ways are the safe ways.

Welcome!

scottp55
03-24-2015, 08:17 PM
Congrats and welcome Chip.
You're going to love it :)
Don't seem to be many people with the Desktop indexer(Even TJ doesn't have one), but know there's interest as 2 people I know are just getting theirs set up now.
Make sure to post pics and tips/comments for us other Desktoppers!
One of the guys I know does bagpipes and he's been thinking 3D work with his Exotics, But now I'm thinking he might like to consider inlays as well:)
Looking forward to seeing your work, but don't forget we seem to get the most benefit from seeing others mistakes and experiences.
Have Fun!!
scott

Chip
03-24-2015, 09:19 PM