PDA

View Full Version : Best spindle to buy

rtmorehead
04-11-2015, 04:18 PM
After about 10 years of owning a PRT 48x96 I'm ready to upgrade from a PC router to a spindle motor.
I work primarily in hardwoods cutting 3/4 inch and also 3d carving. at 2 inch per second
Recently I got a job cutting 1000 parts in 3d out of a mdf material. My machine will be running 24 hr per day for awhile. Don't want any problems from motor failing so am looking at a spindle.( I've gone threw 4 or 5 PC )
I am looking for recommendations on which spindle to get and size.
Also where is the best place to purchase

Bob Eustace
04-12-2015, 12:24 AM
Talk to Frank at Shopbot. You cant go wrong purchasing direct from Shopbot as most here aggree.

bleeth
04-12-2015, 08:01 AM
I wouldn't get anything less than 4-5HP for a full size tool used in a production environment.. Both the HSD and the Columbo sold by SB are good tools. I've been running the Columbo for near ten years now with no issues at all. SB started offering HSD more recently as they are priced lower than Columbo, and although a very good tool, not quite as bulletproof. In addition to changing the mounting plate you will need to change your springs in the z as well due to the weight difference.

cowboy1296
04-12-2015, 10:43 AM
Let me pick yalls brains. My work is primarily part time and a little more than a hobby. Like RTMorehead i do primarily 3-d. I do change the brushes on my router quite often, but other than that its holding up fine. This carving is nearly 30 inches long. My feed rate on my 1/8 ball nose is 2.6 inch per second, 2.4 on the plunge and a 8 % step over. Now if i went with a spindle what could i expect? Will the quality be better, can i push the bits faster, etc?http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=24733&stc=1

rtmorehead
04-12-2015, 03:59 PM
Thanks for the great replies. what do you mean by HDS not as "bulletproof"