View Full Version : Use of ShopBot in high school woodworking program

jvaldez@gusd.k12.ca.us
02-11-2002, 08:19 PM
Hi shop botters,
I have been trying to get info on the ShopBot unit to use in a High School woodworking program. Do we have any drafting/woodworking/technology teachers that are using the Shopbot CNC unit in a school setting? I am seriously interested in purchasing one of these unit for my program but I would like get more info on the unit to see if it would be applicable and beneficial to my program. I welcome any and all information on the subject from any and all sources. I would also like to make contact with someone who is using this unit and is located in the San Jose/San Francisco bay area. Thank you in advance for your input.

gary999s@aol.com
02-12-2002, 08:13 PM
Check this out:

http://www.hermiston.k12.or.us/hhs/teachers/gordon/START.htm

Ed_ufford@rsd.edu
02-13-2002, 11:35 AM
To Jesus Valdez---
I am also a Woodworking/Drafting/Technology teacher in Richland, Washington. My students have been using the ShopBot for over 4 years now with great success. Last year my class received contract to build 14 custom two-sided bookcases for a local bookstore. We used the Shopbot to cut 90% of the project and drill over 5000 shelve pin holes. Saved us about 2 months worth of work-- and every bookcase was perfect. If your Drafting students know CADD, then converting a CADD file to a Shopbot file is simple. We also used it to make an 8 foot 3D Falcon out of plywood and various other projects. This is a great low cost machine. Get it if you can.
Email, me if you would like more info.

ricks
02-13-2002, 01:44 PM
Jesus,
I have a ShopBot in your area.
I sent you an e-mail, but it bounced back.
Send me an e-mail, I will send you info.
Rick

speicher@totelcsi.net
02-14-2002, 06:03 PM