PDA

View Full Version : Using the Shopbot to create a C02 Dragster

khuffman
02-06-2008, 05:22 PM
Hi,
I am just learning how to use the shopbot and was wondering if anyone out there has tried to use the shopbot to create a CO2 dragster (like a shell car)?

Brady Watson
02-07-2008, 01:45 PM
Kora,
I'm sure that you could make a dragster on the Bot if you have a drawing. Links to CO2 dragsters in question would be helpful.

-B

jseiler
02-07-2008, 10:07 PM
I bet its something like this...

http://www.science-of-speed.com/building.asp?id=33

Looks like a fairly tough project for someone just learning. Got any 3d design experience, Kora?

bryan
02-07-2008, 10:52 PM
This project really makes me feel old, as I remember bandsawing and a lot of hand sanding back in 8th grade shop class some 32 years ago, man what I could have done with my bot;-) I may not have won the race but my car would have been hot.

wiese
02-08-2008, 01:22 PM
If you have Rhinoceros, you may want to check out this tutorial. http://www2.rhino3d.com/resources/display.asp?language=en&listing=728

khuffman
02-11-2008, 09:12 PM
Thanks to all!
John, yes you are in the right place, this link in particular will get you a specific example of a shell car.
http://science-of-speed.com/building.asp?id=215 I have also attached the file that I created using VCarve Pro. I would appreciate any specific siggestions you might have as to different approaches to try. For this file, I am using a 1/4" end mill and each vector is a speparate shopbot cutting path. Is there a way to combine several saved toolpaths into one shopbot file.

Dragster file

3670 (45.1 k)

ryan_slaback
02-11-2008, 10:20 PM
Kora, You can combine the toolpaths into one file so long as they use the same bit. When saving the toolpaths in VCarve there is a box that you can check that says combine toolpaths into one file or something like that.