PDA

View Full Version : Feeds and speeds

svrfsvp@netscape.net
05-20-1999, 10:17 AM
I am just getting started with my ShopBot, and have encountered a problem cutting circles in 3/4" thick plywood - I am using a 1/4" diameter bit, the circle command reads as follows:
CC, 24,O,-1,0,0,-.25,3,1,1,1,1,1
which should do 3 repetitions, each 1/4" deeper than the last.

The problem I have is that the tool inevitably starts to cut a spiral towards the inside the circle rather than repeat the previous circular cut. Does anyone have any thoughts on what causes that to happen? I have some guesses, but it would be nice to have some concrete suggestions on how to eliminate this problem.

Regards...

giggalo
05-21-1999, 12:15 AM
What I do and to me the easy way is in your cad program draw 3 circles with 3 diffrent colors and overlap the 3, then when you convert them it will ask for color depth the 1st would be -.25 the next color -.50 and the 3rd --.75 this will do 3 passes and cut thru all the way.

Make sure you remember what colors you did 1st 2nd and 3rd to enter the depth or you will go from -.25 to -.75, there might be a better way to do it but I always do it this way.

Ron

stecchino
05-21-1999, 11:13 AM
Thanks for the input. I am using the ShopBot commands directly, and in programs that I have written, to cut some repetitive shapes - in this case, nested circles. The tool is going through the correct number of passes - no problem there, but what is happening, is that by the second or third pass, it starts to cut a spiral - that is, it fails to follow the path it used in a previous pass, and wanders in towards the middle of the circle.