View Full Version : Power Factor Optimizer solution

ed_lang
04-18-2008, 03:08 PM
Well, I am no power expert, and thought I would try out this crazy thing. You connect it to the panel box and it will save you money....... Yeah right I thought........ Well..... Maybe it will after all!

Here is what I did. Connected to breaker that supplies my 5HP compressor. I then turned on various equipment in my shop and used a clamp on amp-meter to measure the current in one leg of the single phase power in my shop. Here is what I got.

All equipment off, Shopbot on but not cutting, lights on etc... I pull 15A. With this box on, I pull 13.5A. My 18" wide belt sander showed 34A and them 28A with box on. Cyclone pulled 26A and 24A with box on. cyclone, Table Saw, sander and planer running I pulled 60A with box on 54A.

Not really a good test but at least I saw a difference.

Now if I receive a check from the power company next month, and not the usual bill, I'll be sure to buy a round of drinks at the next ShopBot camp I attend. If my bill is less due to this box, how will I know? My bill is different each month so I have not good baseline.

Well, there you have it for what it is worth. Your millage may vary, void where prohibited by law, and I don't think any electrons were harmed in the experiment but I may be saving some. It did not improve my memory or any other part of my personal life. My cut quality on my ShopBot stayed the same and I still have to work for a living. I am not connected in any way with Lighthouse Enterprises (Ward, the vacuum motor guy) which is where I got this crazy little box. Made in the U.S.A. and CSA as well as UL approved.

If you want more details or an update, contact me off of this forum and I'll be happy to provide any information I can.

dana_swift
04-19-2008, 10:02 AM
Ed- what an interesting experience! I appreciate your measurements... what did you pay for the gizmo?