View Full Version : Symmetrical file cuts asymmetrical wood

jules_mccann
09-14-2001, 12:59 PM
Hello all, and thanks for whatever input you may have with this. I am pretty new to the world of the Shopbot, but I know enough to be pretty sure my 'Bot shouldn't be doing what it's doing.

The ingredients: PRT96: With rack & pinion drive, porter-cable router (typically at 21,000 rpm), dust vacuum, & metal table. Vector 9. SB v2.25.

The Problem: We cut a countertop out of 3/4" MDF at .35"/sec - which was basically an arc about 7 feet long and about 31" wide. The inside and outside are arc sections of concentric circles, and the sides are radii of those circles, so the thing should be perfectly symmetrical. This should allow two pieces to butt against each other to form a larger section of the circle. It doesn't work.

The cutfile was made properly, and I checked the NC Code to be sure it was instructing the 'Bot properly, which it was.
When cutting, the endpoints are matching perfectly with the starting points, but the shape is slightly warped, I think towards the Y axis (but Im not exactly sure, since it wasn't square on the blank)

We've had some problems with repeatability on the Y Axis - cutting the same file at different depths, from the same XY-zero point, will align perfectly on the x-axis, but *may* be off by 1/32"-1/16".

The gear ratios are set correctly. The table seems to be level and square. I suspect my Y-Axis may not be calibrated properly, but I havent read
a recommended procedure for calibrating a rack-and-pinion table.

Ok, that's enough outta me for now. Thanks for your help.

dave@shopbottools.com
09-14-2001, 09:43 PM
Jules,