PDA

View Full Version : Table flatness & general precision

cnc_works
05-21-2004, 12:11 AM
Hope this doesn't turn out too long for you guys.

I have had some years of experience with a really tight, precise, smaller cnc router, generally .001 repeatability or real close to it.

I bought a used PRT96 with a super heavy table earlier this year and have finally got it together with a 1/2" X 48" X 96" sheet of aluminum shimmed pretty flat, then two sheets of 3/4" MDF with the top sheet machined flat, then immediately coated with a couple coats of shellac to slow moisture in & out.

Tonight I put a chunk of aluminum (a vacuum plate from a process camera) 1 1/4" X 30" X 40" on the MDF and machined the top flat to use it for a specialty vacuum plate for myself. Pattern showed pretty good perpendicular on the Z, but when I finished and put a machinists 4' straight edge on it, I had about .004" to .005" hollow in the middle of the plate. Can't for the life of me figure how, but there it was.

My question is, would you be happy with that tolerance? I wouldn't be so happy with that tolerance on my small CNC, but is this what I should expect for the bot? I mean, I wouldn't be too disappointed if this was IT, but I'd like a little closer. And any hints on how to get closer would be appreciated, given that I spent a lot of somewhat intelligent effort getting to this point.

Last point, like many others, this forum is what gave me the confidence I could probably get what I wanted out of the bot. Thanks!

Donn
www.cncworks.biz (http://www.cncworks.biz)

gerald_d
05-21-2004, 01:49 AM
Donn, just something to consider, and I am not saying this is what happened to you....