PDA

View Full Version : BobCad Converter

khaos
02-28-2008, 05:15 PM
I created a very rapid site to try and address the BobCad issues. I need help from the community as I am an extreme noob to shopbottin. However, I do know my way around the ol PC. I used the BobCad from one of the previous threads in this area but you can paste new text in there or hand type some code to test specific items.

Please run a bobcad file through and lets see if we can make a converter.

I do not have bobcad so I rely on those of you who do.

just paste your contents into the top windows click convert and viola. You'll discover something I didn't know about. :p

I created this thread in an attempt to capture the needs of the BobCad folks using shopbots.

So please let me know about items that are wrong or need attention. If I get this working I will create an offline application that can be used in the shop.

Joe.
www.joesboats.com (http://www.joesboats.com)

Brady Watson
02-28-2008, 06:34 PM
If you have a generic G-code post that you can output from BC then there is no reason to convert to SBP. The latest version of the control software will run G-Code directly.

Out of curiosity, why are people using BobCAD with the ShopBot? It doesn't offer anything over what the FREE software you get with the purchase of your tool...and I feel, that it is both counterintuitive & a stumbling block for guys that are just getting started in CNC & using a ShopBot. ShopBot staff worked pretty hard to make owning & using a Bot as easy as possible, while giving you plenty of power in your toolpathing. Using BobCAD in my opinion is going backwards...(having purchased v18) This of course is not to take the wind out of anyone's sails, if they in fact enjoy working in BobCAD and writing work arounds just to get it to work...

-B

khaos
02-28-2008, 08:44 PM
I dont know. Maybe they are not the first owners of the bots. The license does not transfer... Although 750 is less than 1200 ...