PDA

View Full Version : Pepple Backround Texture

David Iannone
12-20-2006, 06:28 PM
I had a customer ask me today for a backround texture of a pepple backround, like the look you get on a flat bottom sandblast of signfoam. I am still new to the texture module of v-carve. If anyone has created something close....could I see the variables?
Thanks,
Dave

den73160
12-21-2006, 03:17 PM
I would like to see that info myself

paco
12-21-2006, 03:40 PM
From the info you provide, my guess is that you'd be better off with 3D modeling rather than VCP texturing.

Maybe VETRIC staff could prove me wrong...!

Last time I machined such pebble look-a-like texture (3D model in this case) it took forever because of all the 3D ramping (that was HDU with optimized VR settings)... but it was a success!

David Iannone
12-29-2006, 09:14 PM
Paco,
Do you by chance have a picture of the pebble look-a-like texure. Or even the rendering from the 3-D model software? I hear Vetric is improving upon the texturing module in the future. I am very anxious about the new features. Did you use Artcam Pro for the pebble texture?
Thanks,
Dave

paco
12-29-2006, 09:54 PM
This what I used from the above post...

...made from a texture image in 3D CAD. The image is a view point of about 3 to 4 inches away.

Quite a bunch of 3D CAD can make 3D model from images.

David Iannone
12-29-2006, 11:29 PM
Very nice, exacly what i am looking for. I am not familiar at all with creating 3-D from scratch though. I still have a lot to learn with the whole 3-D thing, but, at least I can carve it when I design it. Could you recomend a good 3-D modeling software. I am very computer literate. I just don't want to devote a ton of time in learning yet another software program.

Another question: Is there any way I could have a sample file of that texture to cut on my bot, maybe even 6"x6". Then maybe I could use the digital probe to trace it. Drop it into Vectric Cut-D ? Would that work?

paco
12-30-2006, 12:33 AM