PDA

View Full Version : Ramping with Corel

johnmacg@interlog.com
05-06-1999, 05:43 PM
I'm a beginner. Got my machine finished at last and am playing around with software for making toolpaths. Corel Draw's curved lines appear to be exported in dxf as a series of straight lines. It looks like Vector's are that way too, from the sample drawing online.

Shouldn't the machine ramp down and up at abrupt changes in direction? It looks to me as though that's not happening. Is it happening? Does it matter at all? Does it matter very much?

Should I try to break the lines in the drawing program at points where there's abrupt changes in direction to force the ramping?

When I'm working with ShopBot code, is there a way of figuring out where on the drawing a particular command is applied? Anyone got any tricks on that?

I'm struggling with software trying to make toolpaths. So far software's ahead.

But I'll win in the end.

RouterClouter

seaside@esva.net
05-07-1999, 08:47 AM
Hey,

>Corel Draw's curved lines appear to be exported in dxf as a series of straight lines.

A ShopBot moves in a series of straight lines; moving from point A to point B. The shorter the line segments, the closer it will be to a curve. I don't know how it works in Corel, but in many CAD programs including TurboCAD you can change the number of segments that curve is broken into. If the segments get small enough you won't be able to tell it from a true curve.

>Shouldn't the machine ramp down and up at abrupt changes in direction?

There's a setting for the change-of-direction angle ( threshold angle ) that causes a ramp down and up; I think the default is 115 degrees. You can check it's value by typing (UV) and looking for threshhold value.

>is there a way of figuring out where on the drawing a particular command is applied?