PDA

View Full Version : Shopbot and AutoCAD

curtiss
06-09-2004, 09:25 PM
As I am a bit new to all this, Will a shopbot follow an AutoCAD file such as a golf course map?

Will it follow a hatch pattern in the fairways?

What material might be good for a golf course map/ carving?
Anyone near Springfield Mo with a machine ??

Thanks

Curtis Spfd mo

daniel
06-09-2004, 09:59 PM
Autocad is the first step Curtis. You use a Cad program to draw the files, in your case the golf course map. You then need a CAM program to generate the toolpath for the machine to cut. The tool path takes into account bit diameter and other things. For 2D no problem, you can do this easy. If your talking about a 3D topagraphical map(did I spell that right?) that can be more challengeing. Do you have the golf course maped out in 3D? That would be the first step towards a 3D carving.

gerald_d
06-10-2004, 02:05 AM
Curtis, being proficient in AutoCad is a great start to being proficient with CNC. But it is not as simple as plugging your AutoCad file straight into the SB.

While inside AutoCad, you need to "Explode" polylines and hatches down to individual line elements. Then you need some converter software (some basic stuff is supplied with the SB) to change your AutoCad data into a file that the SB will read (.sbp file extension).

Looking at it very simplistically, if you started with a simple 2D AutoCad file, and you plan to engrave your lines onto plywood with a thin tip cutter, you could start cutting within 2 minutes of finishing the AutoCad file, using the "freeware" that comes with the machine.