PDA

View Full Version : Bobcad V19 to Shopbot

dave_west
01-02-2004, 08:25 PM
Does anyone know the postprossesor I should use to generate the gcode that the shopbot converter will recognize? Fanuc 5T, Fanuc 6M, & Haas VF1 are the only postprossesors in v19 that i'm aware of. Help me please.

Brady Watson
01-02-2004, 09:59 PM
Dave,
I believe that you have to use the version 17/18 post specifically for ShopBot.

Here's the one I have:
BobCAD V17/18 Mill Post Processor

4182 (8.7 k)

dave_west
01-03-2004, 09:10 AM
Thanks I will give it a try.

dave_west
01-03-2004, 12:12 PM
Do you run your shopbot from bob cad, or do you convert the gcode? I am new to this 3d stuff, I have a background in signs, but I bought the bobcad software because of their christmas sale.
So I'm learning as I go.

Brady Watson
01-03-2004, 02:16 PM
Dave,
I did a few things with it...but I haven't in a while. I bought 18 when it was on sale last year. I like it for 2D stuff and occasionally to import IGES files and things like that.

If you really want to get into the 3D game, buy a copy of Rhino (version 2 is fine) and MillWizard. Then you'll be cooking with gas. The BobCAD people just called me yesterday to upgrade to 19 and I told them that it was too time consuming to manually add in lead-ins and outs for Z moves. I told them that for $250 (MillWizard) and Rhino I can run circles around BC all day long for 3D and not ever fear that my tool is going to crash into the table. I like BC for 2D stuff and that's primarily why I bought it. AutoCAD was too expensive and cumbersome.

dave_west
01-04-2004, 05:41 PM
I was hoping to do some furniture with bob cad, custom moldings etc. is this possible with bobcad?
and what is (to manually add in lead-ins and outs for Z moves) like I said I'm new at this. I've got the signs down but that's all 2d.

Brady Watson
01-04-2004, 09:21 PM
Dave,