PDA

View Full Version : Tracing odd shaped objects?

bobbuttons
07-10-2001, 08:36 PM
is there a product that uses a pen/mouse that can generate dxf files of odd shaped parts in a cad program?? basically a mechanical device that would make a design on the screen that i can use to make the part. hope that made sense. thanks!!!

danhamm@abccom.bc.ca
07-10-2001, 08:56 PM
Bob, most cad programs support a mouse or a
digi pad for line drawing or tracing..what cad program are you using at present? maybe someone
who is using the same software can help you..

bobbuttons
07-10-2001, 09:16 PM
anyone have one of these devices?? what is the name of it? i am new to this. thanks again

danhamm@abccom.bc.ca
07-10-2001, 10:46 PM
Bob, try a search on the net for graphic tablets,
I have a wacom ET45PC cordless, played with it but
very seldom use it.. it has a pen and a mouse..
They range in price from $79.00 to $500.00 for a
12 by 12 in pad..

syp@earthlink.net
07-10-2001, 11:06 PM
You are looking for a digitizer. One with a 12X12 digitizer pad area costs around $200.00.
Brands to look for are AceCad, Summagraphics and Calcom.

davidallen
07-11-2001, 09:17 AM
if you want to take measurements directly from the part, look at the ShopBot probe. I have one for the SB and the same device on a MaxNC mill. they work well.

the time required depends on resolution. for a 4 sided panel, you only need 8 points. for a carving, you may need several thousand points. realistically, your resolution doesn't need to be less than your bit radius.

the output is an XYZ point list, but most CAD programs will read them and convert them to DXF for editing.

da

jdhouse@msn.com
06-21-2003, 10:40 AM
What is the best way to "smooth" out a drawing after it has been traced? Are there any technics or programs that work better than others?