PDA

View Full Version : Raster vs. vector vs. 3D

shoeshine
04-10-2009, 12:11 AM
OK let me preface this by saying I haven't actually recieved my shopbot yet. But I'm too excited not to start designing some files.

My qeustion is creating files in vector vs bitmap depthfiles or creating a true 3D model and exporting a dxf.

I am a graphic designer by trade so I am experienced in creating all these file types, but obviously have never set anything to be cut in the real world.

What is the prefered method for decorative carving?

and sorry if I havent found the extremely detailed post someone has already put up here.

shoeshine
04-10-2009, 03:01 AM
Well, as I look at my post I see that that is a ridiculously open ended question...

I guess what I am trying to ask might be better served with an example.

These are a set of 4 steampunk inspired cabinet doors at the conceptual drawing stage. In this example all of the various levels will have flat/90deg edges.

What I am getting at is trying to understand the best file design strategy. Do I take the time to make a 3D model? or should I create a shaded bitmap to describe depth of cut? Or maybe is there a method of describing this in vector format that I dont quite understand yet?

pro's - con's of each method?

again this is more of a question on file design strategy than a specific issue. I would like to hit the ground running, and have a sense of the best way to be thinking of putting together my designs.

ATM my software includes the Adobe suite (this drawing done in Illustrator), an elderly version of Rhino (1.0), Lightwave, and of course Partworks that will be coming with my new BT48.

Anyway, any input or thoughts greatly appreciated.

And I apologize for the newbie-ness of the question but this forum seems so friendly that I thought I'd ask.

Chris

myxpykalix
04-10-2009, 04:21 AM
Chris,
The way that looks best to me would be to use a couple different cutting strategies here.