PDA

View Full Version : RhinoCAM

rustnrot
12-21-2004, 10:20 PM
The Rhino3D with RhinoCAM package for $1000 looks like a good buy. Comments?

stevem
12-21-2004, 10:45 PM
RhinoCAM is a plugin for VisualMill ($4000). RhinoCAM will not generate tool paths, but Rhino and VM are a great combination.

rustnrot
12-21-2004, 10:50 PM
I am very new at this, but I thought I read it right it generates tool paths from Rhino3D. It was just released last week, Dec. 14, 2004. www.rhinocam.com (http://www.rhinocam.com)

stevem
12-21-2004, 11:06 PM
I stand corrected. This is the first time I've read about RhinoCAM as a toolpath generator. I've been using Rihno and VM for two years and really like the software. RhinoCAM looks to be a real bargain for what it can do and ease of use.

rustnrot
12-21-2004, 11:09 PM
I'll probably buy the combo very soon as I have been considering Rhino3D for awhile!

normand
12-21-2004, 11:21 PM
http://www.mecsoft.com/cgi/teemz/teemz.cgi?board=_master&action=opentopic&topic=203 &forum=Support here are more info. rhinocam is visualmill basic and rhino in one

normand
12-21-2004, 11:28 PM
and for you Steve I think that it would cost $125for the plugin since you have rhino and vm

jemelby
12-22-2004, 12:32 AM
Help me to understand

I am a non-SB owner. I understand that there is proprietary control stoftware that actually runs to SB. Correct?

So this combo of Rhino and VisualMill... It generates a tool path for the SB control program to read?

Has anyone actuall tried this combo? Other than VisualMill?

After reading the promo material on the web site, this sounds an awful lot like the "holy grail" of CAM/CAD. Is this as close as it gets to a "wood printer?"

Thanks for any input.

dingwall
12-22-2004, 08:28 AM
James, what you are asking is if there is a post-processor to output Shopbot code.

I'm curious too. What's involved in outputing Shopbot code?

rustnrot
12-22-2004, 08:42 AM