View Full Version : Simple furniture parts

jporter
07-14-2008, 04:46 PM
Folks; can any of you help me with my desire to use my BT 32 as a means of making simple furniture parts, such as rails and stiles with mortises and tenons? I have Part Works software and can draw out the rail, but how do you make a tenon on each end of it? As you may remember from my first posts, I am new to CNC machining and software, so any responses should be in the form of talking to a 4 year old, and as usual, I will not be offended. Thanks, Joe.

rob_bell
07-14-2008, 05:26 PM
Hey Joseph-

I have a nice little article in the works on just this subject - but until then here's a couple starter points. First off take a quick look at an example of one type of cnc tenon I designed. Go to 52:37 of http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9aLVCn5nLZw

Doing this type of work almost always requires putting parts back onto the bot for secondary machining. So being able to accomplish that effectively is an important skill. In the video I verbally describe how I accomplish this.

See if that makes enough sense to get you started.

-Rob

tparr
07-14-2008, 05:39 PM
I am also interested in your video. How do you use the 52:37? When I put it into a search, it gave me videos that were posted at that time.tom

myxpykalix
07-14-2008, 05:46 PM
just click on the link he posted and it takes you to a youtube video called "Cool SketchUp Stuff" after it starts playing move the slider bar to 52:00 minutes and start watching

rob_bell
07-14-2008, 05:47 PM
Hey Thomas-

Click the above link and then slide the video controller thumb until the elapsed time is 52:37. Thats where the tenon portion starts.

-Rob

Gary Campbell
07-14-2008, 05:57 PM
Joseph..
I made a jig to cut dovetails, but also have cut mortise and tenons on it. Here is the post: http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/messages/20164/28434.html#POST64214 There will be more on this jig in the future.

Here is a pic of a Teak table end being mortised.: