PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum Chip Control

jeffreymcgrew
08-13-2006, 04:05 PM
Hey all. Thanks to all the great info on this here site, we just did our first aluminum cutting job (1/4" thick 6160 sheet) and it went (mostly) great.

Now, thing is, I can't run our dust skirt and dust collector when we cut aluminum, for I then can't mist the bit as it cuts and keep a close eye on it as it cuts.

So... what do y'all here that do a lot of aluminum cutting do to keep the chips from going everywhere? They are really, really sharp and no fun to clean up. I think when we re-do our shopbot table here soon I'll put in more of a 'tub' kind of thing, with enclosed sides and such, to try to keep the mess at least within the table itself. But I'd love to hear more ideas, for I'm pretty new to this whole thing, and I' sure there is something smarter that we could be doing...

Brady Watson
08-13-2006, 06:41 PM
Jeffrey,
Why not modify the dust skirt to house the coolant nozzle? You will lose the luxury of being able to clearly see what is going on with the bit/material, but not have to deal with the chips.

-Brady

jeffreymcgrew
08-14-2006, 02:23 AM
But then don't you get 'wet chips' stuck in your dust collection tubes? And isn't aluminum dust and/or chips a pretty flammable thing? Just wondering. So y'all suck them up without worry?

Sorry if it sounds like a dumb question!

wcsg
08-14-2006, 02:42 AM
I cut quite a bunch of aluminum and have never worried about it, goin on two years now. MDF and alum chips. 20 ft. of hose before they enter the collector.

Brady Watson
08-14-2006, 09:55 AM
I know at least 5 other ShopBot operators production cutting AL using compressed air only with excellent results. I would re-evaluate your coolant setup and see if the liquid is necessary.

-Brady

frank_hav
08-14-2006, 11:09 AM