PDA

View Full Version : Questions???

termite
03-31-1999, 09:39 AM
Has anyone thought of putting a writing instrument into the bot? I do not want to cut foam in my shop (the mess). I have been doing practice cuts in plywood (expensive). I was thinking of attaching a pencil (this is a plotter) somehow but do not know how. Does anyone have any ideas? I am new to this and am learning every day and trying to teach the bot to high school students. It has been interesting.
Other questions. How do I do raised lettering? I am using autosketch as a cad.
I was at New Orleans with shopbot and they had a sign there that the cuts were of varying depth on the individual letters like tombstone carving. I was told that cassmate software did it. That is too expensive for me. How do I do the varying depth. I already know about individual lines but do not want to edit each line in a converted program. Is there another way?
How does anyone do multiple copies of the same thing in one cutting?
I have more questions but this is enough for now.
Thanks for your help
Bill Lindsay

rgbrown@itexas.net
03-31-1999, 10:24 AM
Bill,
Some use a felt tip pen in the router chuck to trace the path. An adapter might need to made to fit the router or, one could run it on the tool carrier with a holder on an offset.
TurboCad has a free download and tutorial on their website for a 2D CAD program. I know of no 'inexpensive' program that allows 3D draftng and conversion, though there is probably one out there.

Ron B- rgbrown@itexas.net (mailto:rgbrown@itexas.net)

studio@renc.igs.net
03-31-1999, 01:03 PM
I have been working for over a year to get Casmate
to router the very sign you saw. It still is not working. The sign you saw had flaws in it.

Richard

john@pcjet.com
03-31-1999, 02:31 PM
Has anyone used Mastercam? I saw the results of some of the work and it looked pretty good.

John
J.E.T. Enterprises
john@pcjet.com (mailto:john@pcjet.com)
www.pcjet.com

arthur_ross
03-31-1999, 03:05 PM