PDA

View Full Version : Shopbot versus the big routers

John Hershberger (Unregistered Guest)
03-24-2005, 02:42 PM
Can anyone fill me in a bit on the difference in performance between the shopbot and say a Thermwood? I know that a local shop running a Thermwood is not able to meet their customer's needs, they're always running late. I was wondering if this would be an opportunity with a shopbot. This would involve cutting mostly solid wood. Would the shopbot produce similar quality at a slower pace on at least the smaller or lighter duty parts? Would the customers be able to tell that it came off of a lower investment machine? The other option might be to buy a used industrial router, but they don't come with shopbot support and that of this forum. What do you think?

Thanks,
JH

krfitz
03-24-2005, 03:32 PM
John,

Sounds like opportunity is knocking...

I have never seen a Thermwood or its output, but I have been using a ShopBot for nearly 3 years, and I can tell you that it is a superb machine that is backed by superb people (both SB employees and the people on this forum).

The machine is not the limiting factor in the quality of the parts produced. The only limit is in the skill and knowledge of the operator. You will have a learning curve, but it will not be that bad if you are halfway intelligent, start with factory training and hang out on this forum.

Best of success to you.

Regards,
Kevin

phil_o
03-25-2005, 10:07 AM
The first time I saw a CNC in action I was in awe watching it move. It was a Thermwood. I had not seen a Shopbot before. I teach high school woodworking and we now own a Shopbot. My students have made all kinds of things on the machine. I am sure that you will be able to do whatever you need to with a Shopbot. There won't be any compromise in the quality of the final product.

paco
03-25-2005, 11:25 AM
John,