PDA

View Full Version : Cutting Birch and Oak 3/4" Plywood

vswla1@bellsouth.net
12-19-2002, 09:13 AM
Since I am new to the world of shopbot I am asking for any and all the assistance I can get.

I am cutting 3/4" birch and oak 7 and 9 ply plwood and am running into problems with broken bits and "feathering" of the top of the boards.

History: I purchased the whole machine from shopbot. table, vacuum, routers, a axis, even their dust collector. It is a great machine and I am proud of it. I use it to make engraved signs and computer worstations that our employees with disabilities sand, stain, assemble and sell.

Currently I have the routers set at 19000rmp and normaly use a 1/4" bit. My feed rate varies from about .75 to 1.25. I tried slower rates down to .3 but the bit breakage and feathering continues.

I would appreciate any help on how to prevent or atleast reduce these problems.

Thank You

gerald_d
12-19-2002, 10:12 AM
Many things:

Feathering can be solved with a spiral-down bit (or an orbital sander)

If you are trying to cut 3/4" in one pass with a 1/4" bit, then you are asking a bit too much. (pun?)

You can go much faster than 19000rpm with a really good sharp bit.

Good spiral bits give a MUCH better result than cheaper straight bits.

rgbrown@itexas.net
12-19-2002, 10:17 AM
Jeff,

My first thought is "What the heck bit is he using." Except it wasn't heck I thought.

The "feathering" or fuzz might be cured with a down-shear bit if it is on the top. I could be a spiral-down or 'compression' bit.

What this leads to is we only have the parts for part of your problem. To solve it, more information is needed - probably the bit/material interface, since that appears to be where the problem seems to be.

Ron

Jeff Johnson
12-20-2002, 04:04 PM
First off I want 2 apologize for the double post, computer glitched and I didn’t know I did it, and thank you for your posts.

Trying to answer your questions:

The feathering does occur on the top of the board.