PDA

View Full Version : Scarf joints

davidallen
12-02-2000, 10:41 PM
anyone tried cutting scarf joints using a dovetail bit? I was thinking that the angle may help lock the pieces during glueup.

da

joa
12-06-2000, 09:37 PM
Do a stepped scarf. Real easy to do with a large bit and it's actually a stronger (more surface area) and easier to align joint.

Joa

Gerald D
12-07-2000, 12:32 AM
David may have been misunderstood. I think he was referring to the conventional "stepped" scarf, but using a dovetail bit as a cutter.

If one takes an example of a scarf with 1" wide "lands" with 1/4" deep "risers", the dovetail bit will make the riser lean over towards the land. When two mating parts are pushed together, the angled risers will help to lock the joint together.

I have no personal experience of this (because my work does not use scarf joints), but I like David's suggestion.

.___________________________________
.../________
................/________
............................/________
._________________________/________

Can someone tell us how to convert a CAD image to .gif format for posting on this forum?

bill.young
12-07-2000, 07:45 AM
David,

I think your idea would work great if the steps were fairly thick and you were cutting solid lumber. In plywood though I think you need lots of thin steps so that you get as many layers as possible with long-grain to long-grain glue joints.

When I cut scarfs in plywood I try to get two steps in each veneer layer, so the steps end up being about .02" high. I'm not sure that the sharp beveled edge that the dovetail bit cut would survive in steps that thin.

Bill

davidallen
12-07-2000, 08:21 AM
Bill,

you're right, thin steps probably wouldn't work as well. I was looking at alternatives to edge joining boards. for end grain, a scarf joint is probably ideal, but for edge joints, it looks like biscuits is the better way.

the shopbot can joint 2 -8' boards at the same time which really helps.

da

RgEngrave@aol.com