PDA

View Full Version : G4 Question

conceptmachine
02-22-2007, 10:16 AM
I plan on doing a g4 or ascension upgrade to my prt and would like to hear from some of you fellow botters who have done either of these upgrades.One question i have is if i do the g4 upgrade can i use mach software with it? The reason i ask is i've been programming cnc's for 10 years at my day job and the mach software is based on industry standard g code which i'm familiar with and i like having the options that mach offers.I'm not saying that the shopbot software is bad but it has limitations.So if any of you have any suggestions i would appreciate it.

shawn

patricktoomey
02-22-2007, 10:29 AM
I did the Ascension upgrade for both the speed and resolution but also in large part for the ability to use GCode with Mach3. The communictions have never been dropped once, and I've tweaked Mach to add all my own macros, buttons, etc. to speed things up. The new Quantum version of Mach is awesome too. It has non-linear acceleration and deceleration (jerk control) so there is no more jerking at the start and stop of cuts and you can turn your speeds up higher. Everything is so smooth and fast it's amazing. My 3D cuts are now better than I could have ever hoped for and the cut times are less than half of what they used to be.

jeffreymcgrew
02-22-2007, 11:20 AM
We did the 4G upgrade. It uses the standard Shopbot code, not G-code. It actually uses the same kind of control software your PRT does, it just uses the Alpha version with a different config file.