PDA

View Full Version : Table/Vac System Construction

Gary Campbell
04-16-2007, 10:23 PM
First let me say how imressed I am with level of knowledgeable help that is so freely given on this forum. I have a PRSalpha 9660 on order. 30% of my decision to go with ShopBot are the people, even tho unseen, that are here on this forum. Thanks to all. I am trying to use the time waiting for it researching the construction of the table and Vac hold down system. My current thoughts are a combination of a gasketed 4 or 6 zone system with vac motors mounted directly under the table. Grainger has some reasonable units with vac & cfm #'s equal to the Fein specs. The table design I was looking at was a waffle grid design shown in a post in this forum a few months back and I would like to incorporate a T slot system between the zones. I would like to know if there is a gallery of photos showing other tables or a site with info that I might have missed as I am a newbie to ShopBot, but have over 30 yrs in the woodworking field. Our Company does high end custom millwork here in the Florida Keys and we are looking to raise our level of service and quality up to a higher level with the new "Bot". I am also concerned about the high humidity levels here in the Keys and the use of MDF products. I had a partial sheet left over from a speaker enclosure that molded right in the rack and was almost ready to dissintegrate after only a few months in this climate. There is a Piedmont Plastics Store a couple hours from here and I have time... what is the best material for the Bed/table? I also have access to stone products. I would appeciate input from one and all on any of my questions, and would like to Thank you in advance for your time and trouble.

Gary

andre
04-17-2007, 09:40 AM
Gary
I just set up my new prs alpha with two feins, Wow! I build custom cabinets and when I put my first sheet on yhe table, it stuck like glue.