PDA

View Full Version : The international of fake letterists

henrik_o
04-04-2009, 05:01 PM
I’m not a sign artist. I’m not looking to become one: I am quite happy doing what I do. However, given the absolutely horrible production techniques and general quality of composition of signs around here, it is rather hard not to flirt with the idea of a little adventure.

Preliminaries: I have Mastering Layout: Mike Stevens on the Art of Eye Appeal on order from Amazon. I have purchased what is in my opinion a decent vector library of sign panels and frames plus elements, so I don’t have to re-invent the wheel (alternatively: actually master the craft, I suppose). I have done some lazy tests.

I am going to try to get some crude designs to market, one way or the other. The Swedish market is not at all like the US or the continent in Europe. Up here, it’s vinyl all the way baby – there are some very simple 2d engraving signs but the kind where one wonders if there was at any stage any non-engineer involved with designing them. I guess this thread is a repository for my attempts, and a stark reminder –should I fail– to myself not to intrude too much on the other arts or attempt to chew more than I can swallow.

Right now, I’ve only got a small library of vector designs and some sample signs. It would be helpful for me if they were critiqued, both from a point of aesthetics and commercial viability of the types. I really have little idea of how this market works; catching errors of presumption early on would be great. We don’t much hang signs around here, what little market there is it’s small brass signs on doors or vinyl on plates.

If you consider the below samples as a portfolio, which I would carry with me to attempt to gain access to an exposition space at certain retailers of home improvement goods, etc, how can it be improved – be merciless, I am not looking for an ego pat.