PDA

View Full Version : Profilelab Users: Can you hear me now?

dave_draper
03-22-2004, 09:24 AM
I have been making signs for 34 years. We recently bought a Wart Hog from Glentec, and it came with ProfileLab 5 and WinCNC.

The ProfileLab Manual is "e6 User Guide" ...and I have ProfileLab 5. So I have pages of text and charts that I don't find on my computer screen. For example, I'm reading about a "Ginsu Knife", but I swear it is not to be found on my program.

Anyway, long story short, My Brain is Mush from reading and re-reading and re-reading each paragraph and coming away with confusion and more questions.

I've concluded the manual writer(s) were on drugs at the time. It is of little help.
So I started to write my own tutorial, with simple explanations like:
"This is how you create a simple shape and then route it. Step 1.....

I knew the learning curve would be intense. I did assume that the manual would be helpful. (boy, was I wrong) I can't get past routing simple shapes becasue the manual is so obscure in its explanation of things.

So, are there other ProfileLab users out there? Am I alone. I need help to get over some of the rough stuff.

kerrazy
03-22-2004, 10:16 AM
I use ProfileLab and may be able to get you a manual for 5.0
Dale

dave_draper
03-22-2004, 01:07 PM
Great Dale,

I really do have a legal licensed copy and a dongle, all brand spanking new.

I'm not sure why they sent me ver. 6 manual. I was overhearing the folk at Glentec telling sombody that ProfileLab 6 is just beta tesing right now.
Apparently, I'm not the only one getting the new manual.

I really don't think manual 5 would be easier reading material. But I'll give it try.

What is needed in this industry is a good step by step instructor who has prepared a tutorial that teaches from the view point of a "newbie".

kerrazy
03-22-2004, 03:20 PM
its coming down the pipe give me an address to send it to you.
Dale

By the Way I too agree with a tutorial being available.

dave_draper