PDA

View Full Version : V-carve first or pocket first for raised letters?

blackhawk
02-08-2010, 04:56 PM
When you guys create raised letters inside a pocket, do you machine the pocket first and then V carve or vice versa?

I have been doing the V-carve first, but when I go back to clean the pocket area, I sometimes have chunks of material break off before it is machined. I suppose that when the pocketing endmill gets near the V-carve areas, the material left is real thin and breaks off. Sound like a good theory?

signtist
02-08-2010, 07:07 PM
You should have a bold enough outline around the letter so this isn't a problem. Looks better too!
John www.signgraphics1.com (http://www.signgraphics1.com)

eaglesplsh
02-08-2010, 11:08 PM
This issue came up when I started playing around with the V-carved inlay method that's often discussed on the forum. The Male half of the inlay is made up of raised V-carved letters/pictures.

I noticed that PartWorks handles things funny when you include a larger bit to speed up the flat area clearing in a V-carve operation. PW puts the large bit moves before the V-carve bit moves. But, the V-carve tool path cuts the letters first, and then does any remaining flat clearing.

I did a small amount of testing and my results seemed to show that you were better off cutting the V-carve tool path first. That maintains an even cutting load on the bit and seems to cut down on the potential for chipout. The V-carve toolpath will automatically follow this initial cut with area clearance using the V-bit. Then your large cutter tool path can hog out the remainder.

I was cutting maple for my tests. It sounds like you're describing different results. What kind of wood/material are you using? Anyone else have experience to give advice?

blackhawk
02-09-2010, 09:15 AM