PDA

View Full Version : Lithophane Christmas

joewino
12-26-2009, 01:19 PM
I'll post this in the sign section since that is what I do for a living.

This is a lithophane I did of our grandchildren as a Christmas present for my wife, Jeanne.

Overall size is 9" x 14". Face is 3/16" acrylic.

It was designed with ArtCam Pro and produced on my ShopBot PRTalpha.

phil_o
12-26-2009, 04:16 PM
Very nice Ray. Good looking kids too.

Gary Campbell
12-26-2009, 09:53 PM
Raymond...
Nice! I think there is some woodworker in there along with the signmaker.
Gary

phil_o
12-27-2009, 10:56 AM
Looks like you come up with a light source that works very well.

joewino
12-28-2009, 09:03 AM
Phil - the light is a 13" florescent unit normally used for under counter kitchens(from Home Depot). I replaced the rocker switch with a lamp cord that has a switch in-line.

It gives a softer light without having a bright spot, plus it doesn't build up as much heat. There are some holes in the back to allow for ventilation.

donclifton
12-28-2009, 09:13 AM
Have you thought of using white LED's. This could be mounted between the face and clock movement and produce 0 heat.
Thanks
Don Clifton

navigator7
12-28-2009, 09:19 AM
Raymond, is the lithopane three pictures (Of the stunningly attractive kids) combined into one or is this one photograph?

From the time you pushed start....how long did the carving process take?

joewino
12-28-2009, 12:11 PM
Chuck - I took three photographs and combined them into one using Photoshop. While there I cropped them down and adjusted the contrast, and converted them to gray scale.

And I agree, they are very attractive kids...but then I'm prejudice. The young lady is our first grandchild and just turned 18 yesterday. The boys are both 13.

LED's would probably work well too, but I was on a limited budget and having to use what I could find around the studio and locally. The light was actually bought with a Gift Card that I had received earlier.